When my sister when to Nigeria she brought me a lot of nice Ankara Fabric. Since I like doing DIYs I decided to use the fabric to make some cute hair accessories. When I got the fabric I knew that I wanted to make hair bows. Plus this is a good DIY if you don’t know how to sew. If you know me I’m a sucker for accessories especially bows. Let’s get started!

me with ankara fabric DIY hair bow

DIY: Hair Bows with Ankara Fabric:

Materials:

  • Ankara Fabric
  • Glue sticks
  • Glue Gun
  • Scissors
  • Ruler

Steps:

  1. Measure and cut two pieces of Ankara fabric.
  2. Cut a large piece (7.5 inches x 5.5 inches) of Ankara fabric.
  3. Cut a small piece (3 inches by 1 inch) of Ankara fabric.
  4. Flip your fabric over to the back side.
  5. Fold the top and bottom of your Ankara fabric and secure with glue.folding ankara bow steps
  6. Fold the left and right ends of the Ankara fabric toward the middle and secure with glue.
  7. Pinch the middle of the Ankara fabric to form a bow tie shape. Secure with glue.pinching hair bow ankara
  8. Wrap the small piece of material around the middle of the bow tie. Secure with glue.
  9. Slide your large bobby pin to the back of your hair bow.DIY ankara hair bow last steps
  10. Let your hair bow dry.
  11. Wear it.

me with ankara fabric DIY hair bow

P.S. I ‘m so excited to get more Ankara fabric. I’m not sure what I will make next…hmm.

Do you like to wear DIY accessories for your hair or make your own jewelry? If so, what is your favorite fabric to use? Share below.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Hair Bows with Ankara Fabric

Leave a Reply

