With spring being around the corner I was inspired to create a Polyvore set. When I was eating lunch the other day I had an idea to create a Polyvore set inspired by 80’s/90’s TV show ladies. I like looking at these types of sets from @WearWhatUWatch and I have to thank WearWhatUWatch for the inspiration when I did my first blog post like this. Thank you WearWhatUWatch šŸ™‚

If you have followed my blog for some time you know that I’m an 80’s baby! Woo hoo! 80’s babies rock! If you are an 80’s baby comment below. šŸ™‚ Another good thing about the 80’s is that there were good TV shows on the air. When I’m looking for something to watch I like watching comedies with a touch of drama sprinkled in. If you want to see what I’m watching check out my winter reading list with TV bonus list.

One of my favorite 80’s/90’s shows is A Different World and for this style inspiration I wanted to showcase looks inspired from three hit TV ladies during this time: Whitley Gilbert from A Different World, Maxine Shaw from Living Single and Clair Huxtable from The Cosby Show. I know the 80’s and 90’s had some crazy style, but I thought it would be fun to put a spin on the looks with my personal style by creating a Polyvore set.

Throwback Thursday: Spring Style Inspiration from 80’/90’s TV Show Ladies:

throwback thursday spring style inspiration from tv ladies2

1. A Different World: Whitley Gilbert played by Jasmine Guy: When I think of Whitley Gilbert a few words come to mind: classic, sophisticated and ladylike. Since Whitley tends to wear classic pieces I picked a Houndstooth dress (classic print) with an A-Line silhouette to suit my style. This is a perfect outfit to wear to church. Since we are still transitioning with the weather I would pair the outfit with black tights and a classic trench coat. This is ladylike chic!

2. Living Single: Maxine Shaw played by Erika Alexander: I cannot say her name without saying: Maxine Shaw, Attorney at Law…lol And if you watched Living Single you know Max is in love with her power suits. For this style inspiration I wanted to take the bright colors of the 90’s with a blue suit and pop of color blouse. To add my personal style I would wear ankle tapered trousers and oxford heels. This is my spin on a power suit with an edge.

3. The Cosby Show: Clair Huxtable played by Phylicia Rashad: Clair Huxtable is one of the best TV mom’s on television. She was a successful lawyer and her style was on point. To channel her style I would wear a tweed pencil skirt with a bright silk blouse and then finish the look with oxford heels. Opps! I can’t forget to rock my curly fro #BigHairDontCare and my satchel. šŸ™‚

These are good looks for work. If you are looking for more professional outfit ideas click here.

I had fun creating this set. Now I’m off to watch A Different World on Netflix!
Did you watch any of these shows? What were your favorite 80’s/90’s TV shows? Comment below.

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Spring Style Inspiration from 80’s/90’s TV Show Ladies

Leave a Reply

