It has been a brutal polar vortex winter. Between the extreme freezing temperatures, black ice and snow it has been crazy. I’m so over winter! I want spring now! Since it has been really cold I have to take extra steps so my hair and skin are moisturized. As you may know I have thick naturally curly hair and it is dry by nature so in the winter I like to amp up my hair moisture and sealing routine. Shea butter is the perfect sealant to use for thick hair and good to use all year around. Take it a step further and put some shea butter on your feet with thick socks and go to sleep. When you wake up you will have baby soft feet. Plus this is a great DIY for the weekend. 🙂

Let’s get started!

DIY Whipped Shea Butter Mix:

finished shea butter2

 

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz of Shea butter
  • 2 tablespoons of Olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of Jojoba oil
  • 2 tablespoons of Vitamin E oil
  • 4 drops of Tea tree oil
  • 4 drops of Peppermint oil

Tools:

  • Hand mixer
  • Cute mason jars
  • Spoon
  • Spatula
  • Bowl
  • *Notes/Tips:
  • You can use any oils of your choice (add or remove the oils to your liking)
  • Use less of the heavier oils
  • Too many oils = too greasy and too heavy which weighs the hair down

Steps:

  1. Measure 8 oz of raw shea butter and put it in a bowl for mixing.

shea butter raw2. Whip the shea butter on low-speed then slowly increase to medium speed for about 10 minutes.

3. Slowly add the carrier oils: olive oil, jojoba, and vitamin E oil to your shea butter while mixing on medium speed.

shea butter mixer

4. Continue to whip your mixture for about 10-20 minutes  on medium or until you get a light and fluffy consistency like whipped cream.

5. For me after 30 minutes my mixture was light and fluffy. You want to mix it for enough time to make sure that your shea butter mix will stay smooth.

6. Stir in the essential oils (tea tree oil and peppermint oil) using your spatula.

shea butter spatula

7. Scoop out your DIY whipped shea butter mix and put it in a cute airtight mason jar.

8. Now you are ready to use! 🙂

finished shea butter

 

How I use it:

I spray my hair with water lightly and then take a very small amount of whipped shea butter (about a dime size) to each section, concentrating the whipped shea butter on my ends. Since shea butter is heavy my hair usually stays moisturized for most of the week. If my hair feels dry during the middle of the week I will lightly spray my hair with water and use my DIY hair mix and take a dime size amount of whipped shea butter rubbed in the palm of my hand and add it to my hair.

It’s funny how things change because when I started using shea butter I did not like it. I tried it again because I like using products multiple ways before I give up on them. I’m glad I played around with shea butter because my hair loves it!

Oils I like to use:

my hair and skin oils

  • Olive Oil: soothing, softening good for dry hair and dry skin
  • Jojoba Oil: good at controlling sebum, regeneration, calming, anti-inflammatory softening, has natural sunscreen, good for all skin types
  • Argan Oil: healing, firming, protective, good for oil and dry hair
  • Vitamin E Oil: protects skin cells, damage by UV rays
  • Tea Tree Oil: antibacterial, antifungal, antiseptic
  • Peppermint Oil: soothing, stimulating, anti-inflammatory good for acne and oily skin

*The oils you like will depend on your hair and skin needs. Research your hair’s needs to find out what is best for you.

*The great thing about shea butter is that a bit goes a long way. If you use too much it will weigh you hair down.

*Store your finished whipped shea butter mix in a cool dark dry place.

Do you use whipped shea butter for your naturally curly hair or skin? Comment below

5 thoughts on “DIY Whipped Shea Butter Mix

Leave a Reply

