A few weeks ago I was watching a YouTube Video and I came across a video from Dove, #LoveYourCurls. Most of the time I don’t pay attention to the advertisement, but this one was quite different. The video shows different girls with all types of curly hair. They all had different reasons for not liking their hair: it was curly, frizzy, not straight, or different. It’s sad that something as simple as hair can make a big impact, especially with girls. We have to teach our sisters, cousins, and daughters that their hair is beautiful – they are beautiful no matter what. At the end of the video their mothers, sisters and other girls started to show how much they love their curls. When the girls saw this they felt better about their curls.

Now is a good time for me to share My Natural Hair Curly Story.

me bow blu

When I was around 8 or 9 I went to a salon with thick naturally curly/coily hair and came out with thick chemically relaxed straight hair. At this age, I didn’t know what was going on. Later on I found out that relaxers will change and lead to years and years of hair nightmares. Talk about a burning scalp. Yikes! Years later, after my freshman year of college, I decided to stop relaxing my hair because the upkeep was too much. Plus I didn’t have anyone to do my hair while I was away for college and didn’t know how to do my hair.

Fast forward three years ago I decided it was time for me to actually start figuring out how to take care of my hair. I had some time, started mixing and DIY-ing things for my hair. I guess mixing and DIY-ing my hair things was in my path – after all, I am a scientist! If you want to see what I have DIY-ed so far check out my introduction hair and skin post and my DIY hair and skin oil mix. More of my DIYs to come!

I’m all for DIY projects, my shrinkage, curls and all, but let’s talk about the deeper issue for the Dove #LoveYourCurls video – the deeper issue is Confidence!

I remember when I was younger things were so simple. Now there are so many things girls are going through especially with social media. Let’s come together and help girls gain confidence. When we show them that we are confident they will learn how to be confident and see their natural beauty. Confidence starts at an early age.

My inspirational bit of the day is: Don’t let anyone put you down. Let your hair be your crown and rock it! Tell your sisters, daughters, aunts, cousins, and friends that they are beautiful! If you are looking for naturally curly hair help check out Naptural85, MyNaturalSistas and Green Beauty for some great tips. We are in this together! 🙂

So to the girls in this video and all my naturally curly girls out there be confident with your hair. Be confident because you are unique! It doesn’t matter if your hair is long, short, thin, thick or frizzy, God gave you this hair and own it. Cue Shameless Maya I Don’t Care About My Frizzy Hair.

How do you feel about your naturally curly hair? What makes you feel confident? Share below.

20 thoughts on “Dove #LoveYourCurls: Confidence Starts at an Early Age – My Natural Curly Hair Story

  1. Absolutely – love this. Posts like this are so important, especially when there can be such additional pressure from the media. I have super straight hair and I LOVE curls, I think naturally curly hair is so beautiful. Rock that crown! 🙂

Leave a Reply

