Happy New Year! I hope you had a wonderful holiday! Since the weather outside is frightful it made sense for me to share another DIY. In my last DIY, I shared my DIY hair and skin oil mix. Skin care is important to me, especially since I had acne throughout my teenage years and suffer from adult acne.

Face masks are the perfect way to pamper yourself, especially during the winter months. I was inspired to share my winter pamper routine after watching Trisha60’s YouTube video. I discovered her YouTube channel sometime last year and I have been a subscriber ever since. She is super funny and down to earth. Once I watched her winter pamper routine video I knew I had to share mine.

Let’s get Started with My Winter Pamper Routine:

I like to plan my winter pamper time around my hair washing schedule. I wash my hair every other week during the winter. If you have naturally thick curly hair you understand the wash day struggle. I start by washing and deep conditioning my hair. Currently, I’m using Shea Moisture Products. I usually make my own deep conditioner, but lately, I have using the Shea Moisture SuperFruit-Complex-10-in-1-Renewal-System-Hair-Masque.

While I’m deep conditioning my hair I wash my face with Burt’s Bees Soap Bark and Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream. Now that my face is clean I decide what face mask I want to use. During the winter I do face masks twice a week.

One of my go-to face masks is the Bentonite Clay Mask.

indian healing clay

A few years ago my friend introduced it to me and I was hooked ever since! I like to play around mixing it with other things. If you are looking for a good DIY Clay Mask try this one:

DIY Mask:

Bentonite Clay is all around amazing. When I researched bentonite clay I found out that you can use it for other things as well. Once a month I like to clarify my hair with Bentonite Clay to remove build up. It makes my hair soft, moisturized and makes my curls pop!

clay mask mixed

Simple Bentonite Clay Mask:

  • Bentonite Clay (1 to 2 tablespoons)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (1 to 2 tablespoons)
  • Mix the clay and the vinegar until smooth

Acne Defense Bentonite Clay Mask:

  • Bentonite Clay (1 to 2 tablespoons)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (1 to 2 tablespoons)
  • Tea Tree Oil (1 drop or less)
  • Mix the clay and the vinegar until smooth

Leave the mask on for 15-20 minutes. You will notice your face tighten and pulsate. If redness occurs don’t be alarmed it will go a way.

*Side Note: only use glass or plastic when mixing the clay. Do not use metal!

Bentonite clay makes my skin brighter, smoother and keeps pimples at bay. When I feel like a pimple is coming I like to add a drop of tea tree oil and it does the trick! While my face mask is on I use my heated bonnet blow dryer attachment for an intense deep conditioning treatment for 10-15 minutes. By the time I finished deep conditioning my hair it’s time for me to rinse the face mask off with warm water.

After my face is clean I tone my face with Witch Hazel and Aloe Vera gel and moisturize with my DIY facial oil mix. Then I rinse out the deep conditioner from my hair and add some of my DIY hair oil mixes while it’s still wet to seal in the moisture. I wrap my hair in a T-shirt to dry then take a hot shower. After my shower, style my hair. My main go to hairstyles are twist outs and mini twists. I still need to practice how to do Closet Confections Signature Crown Twist. While I’m styling my hair I like to drink hot tea and have a Netflix Marathon. Currently, I’m watching Gilmore Girls. 🙂

Even though it’s a long process it’s worth it because my face feels smooth and my hair is winter ready.

I’m glad I decided to share my winter pamper routine with you! Thank you Trisha60 for sharing! Subscribe to her channel and follow her on twitter.

Have you ever tried Bentonite Clay? If not, try it out and let me know how you like it. How do you pamper yourself during the winter. Share below.

13 thoughts on “DIY Bentonite Clay Mask Plus Winter Pamper Routine

  1. This is a great idea, I’ve never made my own clay mask before. Really like the idea of being able to add other ingredients depending on what your skin needs at the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

