In my introduction DIY hair and skin post I talked about how I will start sharing more hair and skin DIYs.

Let’s get started!

Oils: DIY Hair and Skin Oil Mix:

my hair and skin oils

Oils for my Hair:

For my naturally thick curly hair my favorite oil is olive oil. It seals in the moisture and gives my hair nice shine. I have been using it for years. I’ve tried coconut oil in the past, but my hair likes olive oil the best. Sometimes I like to add Argan Oil or Tea Tree Oil to my hair mix.

How I make my DIY Hair Oil Mix:

I fill the majority of the bottle with olive oil then add 3 drops of peppermint oil, 3 drops of tea tree oil and 3 drops of Argan oil. Move the bottle back in forth so the oils can mix well.

Oils for my Skin:

For my sensitive acne-prone oily skin I started making my own oil mix after trying a sample of Dr. Hauschka’s Skin Clarifying Day Oil. I liked it, but I wanted to play around with making my own facial oil mix. I knew that i wanted to add tea tree oil because it is great for acne prone skin. So far I have been using my DIY oil mix for months and it is working for my skin. It leaves me with a healthy glow.

How I make my DIY Skin Oil Mix:

I fill half of the bottle with jojoba oil and half the bottle with vitamin E. Then I add 4-6 drops of tea tree oil. Move the bottle back in forth so the oils can mix well.

Before deciding what oils to use I did some research, price checked and looked at how the oils can be used. My goals were to find oils that can be used for hair and skin among other uses. There are many oils to choose from and let me tell you oils can get expensive.

If you are using essential oils you need to use a carrier oil with them. A carrier oil is a heavier oil, such as olive oil, coconut oil or jojoba oil. Essential oils are very potent because they are highly concentrated. When using essential oils store the oils in a dark bottle in a dark cool place away from direct sunlight to keep the oils fresh. Sunlight denatures the oils and make them go bad. It is best to make small batches at a time.

I picked up two dark blue bottles from Whole foods (1/2 oz bottle with dropper for my DIY skin oil mix and a 1 oz spray bottle) for my DIY hair oil mix.

my dark blue bottles for oils

After doing some research and a bit of trial and error I narrowed down my top oils to: Olive Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Jojoba Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Peppermint Oil and Argan Oil.

Side note: My favorite oil for my hair is olive oil and my favorite oil for my face is tea tree oil.

Here’s some quick info on each of these oils:

My Carrier Oils:

my carrier oils

  • Olive Oil: soothing, softening good for dry hair and dry skin
  • Jojoba Oil: good at controlling sebum, regeneration, calming, anti-inflammatory softening, contains natural sunscreen, good for all skin types
  • Argan Oil: healing, firming, protective, good for oil and dry hair
  • Vitamin E Oil: protects skin cells, damage by UV rays

My Essential Oils:

my essential oils

  • Tea Tree Oil: antibacterial, antifungal, antiseptic (great to combat pimples)
  • Peppermint Oil: soothing, stimulating, anti-inflammatory good for acne and oily skin

The oils you like will depend on your skin. Research the oils and your needs to find out what oils are best for you.

The great thing about these oils is that a little bit goes a long way 🙂

Note: For my hair I use olive oil as my primary oil. Sometimes I like to add about 3-4 drops of tea tree oil and/or peppermint oil depending on how my hair is feeling.

Quick tip: Jojoba oil makes a great makeup remover. It’s light weight, removes makeup and gentle on the eyes.

Try my DIY oil mixes out and let me know how it goes! Do you like to use oils for your hair and skin? Comment below.

10 thoughts on “Oils: DIY Hair & Skin Oil Mix

Leave a Reply

