If you have followed my blog for some time you may know that I started this blog as a creative outlet. I enjoy share bits of inspiration, pieces of my style and some DIYs. After sharing my last DIY I decided now is the time to share more of my other DIYs with you. I have some other DIYs up my sleeve – hair, skin and more accessories! 🙂

Throughout my teenage years, I have been at war with my hair and skin. My skin and hair suffered because I was always stressed out. Between juggling lab assignments (I’m a scientist), writing and have a bit of a social life, I was busy. Years later I changed my diet, start exercising more and started experimenting making my own products for my skin and hair. Since I am a scientist and I like doing experiments, why not make my own products…hmm.

Let’s get started!

My skin: I have sensitive, oily acne-prone skin and I am in my late twenties.  Adult acne sucks. My skin care routine is simple: I use a cleanser, astringent, facial moisturizer, sunscreen and DIY facial masks (will share later). I’m still on the hunt for a sunscreen that doesn’t break my skin or make me look like a disco ball. Not cool!

I like to invest in my skin care, not my makeup. I believe if your skin looks good, your makeup will look really good. Good skin care starts with diet and exercise. In terms of makeup I like to keep it simple: mascara, eyeliner, lipstick and eyeshadow (my Urban Decay Naked Palette if I’m feeling fancy). I’m thinking about trying out some foundations for days when I want to take my makeup look a step further. I am looking for a foundation that is lightweight and natural because I have super sensitive skin that will match my skin tone. Plus I don’t want to mess up my skin with makeup because my skin is in a good place now. I’m not sure what to try. If you have any recommendations let me know.

My hair: I have naturally thick curly/coily hair. For my, hair I pretty much make my own products. After talking to my friend, doing my research and finding Naptural85 I was inspired to make my own products. I like making my own products because I can make products that fit my hair needs and save money.

me prof me

Another thing I notice now that I wear my hair in its curly state is that thick and curly hair is always dry. Water is the best moisturizer and the first moisturizer I use. After using a moisturizer I seal in the moisture with an oil or butter. When it comes to conditioner I like heavy creamy conditioners with lots of slip. I don’t use heat, hair tools or stripping shampoos because my hair gets super dry if I do.

Just like I like to keep my makeup simple, I like to keep my hair simple. I don’t like changing my hairstyle because I like having a signature hairstyle. Before I wore my hair curly I wore my hair straight with side bangs. Currently my signature hairstyle is a twist out. Before that my signature hairstyle were mini twists. Next, I want to try Closet Confections’ signature crown braid hairstyle. I tried it, but I still need practice. What is your signature hairstyle? Do you like having a signature hairstyle or do you like to experiment with hairstyles?

Another thing I like to add any hairstyle are hair accessories. If my outfit is plain I like to make a statement with my accessories. My favorite hair accessory are hair bows. I don’t care what anyone says you are never too old for a bow. lol 🙂 Recently I made a leather hair bow from left over material from an old leather jacket.

Check out my DIY Hair and Skin Oil Mix.

I look forward to sharing more of my creative side with you. Stay tuned!

Are you looking forward to my hair, skin or accessory DIYs? Comment below.

14 thoughts on “DIY Hair & Skin Care Introduction

  1. I love reading about other people’s routines haha I feel like maybe I’m being nosy but I really do love knowing what other people do (today I was at lunch with me friend I got her to tell me exactly how she washes her hair in the shower hhaha so maybe I am weird). Great post!

    Sam xx
    http://www.smart-twenties.com – how to make the most of your twenties

    1. I’m glad you liked it. I like finding out what people use for their hair and skin as well. That’s not weird. lol Washing my hair is a process. I’m always looking for making it easier. Over the past two years I have improved.

  2. You’re like a young Marie Curie! I have really curly hair too so I’m always trying different oils to help weigh it down/tame the frizz, and deep conditioning masks. Though keratin works wonders–I’ve only splurged on it once but it was well worth it! Loved this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

