In my 1st Blogiversary post I talked about the new series I am starting. I’m excited about starting my Dear Twenty Something Series because as you may know I am a twenty something, specifically a late twenty something. My fellow twenty something women: Smart Twenties, Twenties Chic and Advice from a Twenty Something really inspired me to start this series. They were the first twenty something blogs I followed. When I first starting blogging a year ago I did not know that there were blogs about the twenty something experience.

Before I get started I want to share this funny video by Akilah, Obviously called Twenty Something Fridays. When I saw this video it made me lol. It sounds a bit like me minus the wine. ha! Akilah is a twenty something that shares comedy videos with a bit of hair videos tossed in. She is awesome! She’s funny 🙂

Now, that you are cozy grab yourself a cuppa tea and let’s start chatting about our twenties! 

Dear Twenty Something:

The twenties are the decade that you look forward to – at least I was told when I was younger. My aunts would tell me the twenties are the time you will find yourself, start a career and get married. So when I was a teenager I imagined my twenties would be like that, but I can say that so far it has not been like that. I don’t know about you, but that is a lot to think about in one decade.

So what have I learned so far as a late twenty something? Let’s chat!

Dear Twenty Something: 10 Things I Would Tell My 20 Year Old Self:

1. There is nothing wrong with being a shy person. When I was a child and teenager I was very shy: Over time I opened up bit by bit and I would say I’m reserved and an introvert.

2. Relax a bit: I am a big planner and a workaholic. It’s okay to relax and take a break or vacation.

3. Don’t be afraid to try new things: People say I’m picky, but I say I know what I like. Over the years I have tried different approaches and tried new things. I can say today as a late twenty something I am now relaxing a bit and trying new things! Yay! Blogging being one of them. 🙂

4. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes: Each mistake taught me a lesson and was worth it. When I was younger one of my favorite cartoons was: The Magic School Bus and I remember the teacher, Ms. Frizzle would always say. Take chances, make mistakes and get messy. We should all remember that.

5. Don’t let others make you feel insecure: When I was younger I felt like I did not fit in with the crowd and as a teenager it made me insecure at times. As I got older I realized that it’s cool to stand out.

6. Own your personal style: Style is something that I have learned over the years and it has been an interesting ride. I wore uniforms throughout grade school so when I had chance to wear my own clothes in college let’s just say my style was a mess. For the past few years I have realized what things I liked to wear. Like Tracee Ellis Ross says,”Fashion is disposable, but style is forever”. So true!

7. Patience is a virtue: My mother always tells me this. Whenever I am feeling down I remember these words. In all things: success, education, love and relationships, etc. patience is key.

8. Nice Girls Finish Last is Not a Bad Thing: I have turned these words into Nice Girls Get the Best because they Save the Best for Last. Cue Vanessa Williams – Save the Best for Last. I know that in any situation as long as I am patient God will make it happen if it is His Will.

9. Aim to be Positive in any Situation: Despite the situation I aim to be positive and have a good attitude about life. I find that when I pray and write I release the negativity and feel better.

10. Don’t be afraid to just dance: I know it sounds cheesy, but just dance! When you dance you feel free, happier and less stressed. If I feel super stressed I will dance and sing! I know it seems silly, but it works. Put on your favorite 80s music and just dance!

danny-castellano-dancing

So far my twenties have been filled with lots of education, sleepless study nights, with bits of fun thrown in here and there. So far so good! 🙂

What would you tell you 20-year-old self? Share below. Stay tuned for more of my Dear Twenty Something Series.

13 thoughts on “Dear Twenty Something Series Introduction

Leave a Reply

