Hi Everyone! I cannot believe it has been a month since my last blog post.

For the past few weeks I have been M.I.A., not by choice, but by necessity. It was time for me to do a digital detox because I needed time to recharge myself before resuming blogging. Before my digital detox I did not know it would turn into an actual digital detox. A digital detox is a period of time to stop using your digital outlets, including by not limited to: social media, internet, phone or any other technology of your choice. The amount of time for your digital detox depends on you. You can set a time or just go with the flow. I decided to set a minimum of two weeks and add more time if needed. Let me tell you it was easier than I thought.

I remember the time before all of this social media. Life was simple. Ha! This fall will mark me being on: Facebook for 10 years, using YouTube for 5 years, Twitter for 2 years, Pinterest for 2 years and blogging for 1 year. Yikes! That is a lot of social media! How long have you been on social media? Social media has its pros and cons like anything else. My main pro is that social media is great for e-networking, especially if you are more introverted and my main con is that social media is too much sometimes.

For my digital detox I decided to take a break from blogging and social media (specifically, Facebook, twitter and YouTube). I decided to continue using Pinterest and Polyvore because I like to use them for daily creative inspiration.

The last step of my digital detox was clearing out my blog newsfeeds via Bloglovin and WordPress.com and unsubscribing to YouTube channels I don’t watch anymore. I want to make sure my newsfeeds and subscriptions only have blogs and YouTube Channels that I enjoy. Now, I can comment on blogs or YouTube Channels I like without the having overflowing newsfeeds.

After my digital detox, I feel more focused and ready to get started blogging again! I have some exciting things coming soon. Stay tuned!

What do you think of a digital detox? Will you try it? Comment below.

9 thoughts on “Digital Detox

  1. Interesting idea! I feel scared to disconnect, I think we’re all so dependent on our social media channels nowadays. I’d like to do it for 7 days or so and travel or go somewhere exotic where I get no phone service. Glad you’re back though and better than ever!

Leave a Reply

