Now that spring is coming to an end and summer is officially starting this weekend it is the perfect time for me to share my style inspiration at the moment. If you have followed my blog for some time you may have a little idea of my style. If not check out a few of my style-related post. For the most part, I do not wear bright colors. If I go bright or bold I like to add accessories or prints. I don’t know why I am afraid of bright colors. Bright colors are fun! After watching countless episodes of The Mindy Project and New Girl on Netflix during my TV breaks I am inspired to add bright colors to my wardrobe. Both leading ladies wear bright colors well! It looks good on them so why not give bright colors a try! Plus bright colors pop on brown skin. The time is now to add bright colors to my wardrobe! Right?

Style Inspiration: Bright Colors for Spring & Summer:

Bright colors for spring and summer1.Blue:  Blue is my all time favorite color. Maybe it is because it is the color of my birthstone. Hmm..To me, blue is a color that looks great on everyone. Navy is one of my favorite shades of blue. However, it is not the brightest.

 

How to Amp up Blue: Wear cobalt blue.

2. Yellow: During the spring and summer I see a lot of yellow, especially pale yellows. I don’t really wear yellow, but when I do I like to go for a mustard yellow because it is not as bright. Now that the temperatures are rising I want to take yellow to the next level.

How to Amp up Yellow: Wear really bright yellows such as lemon or neon. (Yikes…I’m not sure about the last one!)

3. Red: If you look in my wardrobe I do not own anything red as far a clothing goes. The only two red things I own are: red lipstick and a red bow belt. Red is bold, and red is a show stopper. I remember hearing someone say: When in doubt wear red. Now, that I am curious about wearing red I want to get a red dress. Most women have a little black dress. Why not a little red one?

How to Amp up Red: Wear intense reds that complement your skin tones such as blue based reds or orange-reds. Get a little red dress.

 


style inspiration bright colors for spring and summer (2)

4. Orange: When I go shopping for clothes if I see something orange I usually go the other direction. I don’t even like orange juice. lol If I do buy something orange I gravitate towards rustic orange.

How to Amp up Orange: Take it up a notch and wear bright orange or an orangey red. I don’t know why I don’t wear orange because I orange will complement my brown skin.

5. White: White is a color that is really versatile, but sometimes it can be boring. I have a few white button down shirts in my wardrobe because they go with anything. When I am not wearing dresses or peplums I wear a lot of button down shirts. White button down shirts are perfect to wear for professional events or when wearing bow ties.

How to Amp up White: Wear it more, especially when toning down bright colors. Try different white shirt styles. In the spring and summer, chiffon white blouses are perfect because they are lightweight and breezy.

Bonus: Fun with Nails: Since I am going to add more color to my wardrobe I need my nail polish to match. I usually wear rosy pinks, mauve, browns, and other neutrals and I want to wear brighter nail polishes for spring and summer.

Do you wear a lot of bright colors? If so what are your favorite colors to wear? Comment below.

4 thoughts on “Style Inspiration: Bright Colors for Spring & Summer

Leave a Reply

