When I started this blog I wanted to share my creative side. Also, I wanted my blog to have a positive and happy atmosphere. In the beginning of the year, I wrote a post about how to increase your happiness and productivity. This post is an extension of that post. Here are 7 easy ways to help you live a more positive life.

7 Easy Ways to Live a More Positive Life:

1. Show Gratitude: One of the first things I do when I wake up and before I go to sleep is pray. I want to thank God for waking me up this morning and giving me another day. I want to give thanks to my family, friends, and everyone around me. Even though I may have ups and downs in life I want to make sure that I give thanks and show gratitude to the people who are important to me in my life. When you show your gratitude you tend to feel more positive.

2. Be Positive: Remember you have the power to control your attitude, not others. No matter if you are having a bad day you have the choice to be positive. There will be times when you feel horrible and you may want to sulk. That’s okay — sometimes we need this to release our emotions. For example, the other day I was frustrated about a project I was working on that was not going well. After taking time away from the project I realized that being frustrated is not going to help me. At that moment I decided to relax, take a deep breath and think positive thoughts. Sometimes this is what we need to do.

3. Don’t Let Others Influence You: If you want to live a more positive life you cannot let others influence you. There will be times when you are surrounded by people who do not want the best for you. Other times you may feel peer pressure to do things that you do not want to do because of what people say. For example, someone might tell you do not pursue a career because it is unstable or it did not work for them. You have to listen to yourself and figure out what is best for you. Remember sometimes the best advice is not to take the advice.

4. Don’t Compare Yourself to Others: We live in a world surrounded by social media and we are constantly seeing images every day of the so-called, “Good Life”. We have to train ourselves to ignore what we may think is perfect and look at ourselves to see what we want. We all have something to offer and we cannot compare ourselves to others. When you compare yourself to others you will be let down. When you feel like you are comparing yourself stop and tell yourself you are doing your best.

5. Keep a Journal: If you have followed my blog for a while you know that I like to keep a journal. A journal way is a great way to keep track of your thoughts and release your mind. Write down memories and bits of what happened that day. I remember finding a journal at Marshall’s with a quote by Anaïs Nin — “We write to taste life twice”. When I saw that quote I knew I immediately wanted to buy that journal. If you want a pick-me-up scroll through your journal entries and I’m sure you will find a way to smile!

6. Write down your goals: I remember someone telling me a goal that is not written is just a dream. Goals are a good way to keep track of your progress, especially for big projects. If your goals become overwhelming set small goals. Each small goal will remind you that you are one step closer to your big goal.

7. Surround Yourself Around Positive People: When you surround yourself with positive people you will want to be positive. The people who you surround yourself can have an impact. Look for people who want to encourage and inspire you to do great things.

Bonus: Read Inspirational Things: Almost every day when I wake up and before bed, I like to read inspirational quotes or the Bible. When I read inspirational things it puts my mind at ease. Another way to find inspiration is by reading the Bible or books by inspirational people.

What is your favorite way to stay positive? Share below. 🙂

14 thoughts on “7 Easy Ways to Live a More Positive Life

  1. Comparison is awful! And our generation especially is faced with social media sites constantly holding others’ achievements over our heads, we have to learn to shut it out. And there’s a saying in Spanish that roughly translated means, tell me who you hang out with and I’ll tell you who you are. Surrounding yourself with positive people is so important–great tips!

    1. Thank you for your comment. I like that Spanish saying. I’m going to have use that because it is so true. I was talking to my younger sister and cousins the other day about how things change when you get older (especially in your twenties). As you get older you really start see who your real friends are.

  2. I love this post – especially your very first point about gratitude! For the first few months of the year I was writing in a gratitude journal everyday and in the last few months I have gotten really slack and have really noticed that it’s had a really big affect on the way that I think about things. I didn’t even really notice that writing in a gratitude journal was having such a big impact on my life and I really need to get back into the habit asap!

    This post is so good! And I looooove reading inspirational things, I spend hours on pinterest just reading quotes haha

    Sam xx

    P.S. I’ve sent you an email and a message through your contact page – I just wanted to know whether you have received them? Let me know if you haven’t! I’d love to get in touch 🙂

    1. I am glad that you liked this post Sam. I enjoyed writing it. Pinterest is addicting! I have an entire Pinterest board dedicated to inspirational and motivational quotes. I will check my email now and get back to you.

  3. I really enjoyed reading this blog post. I too have a journal that I write in and it helps me put down my thoughts. It also is important to me to read the bible for inspiration and to give thanks to God and for truth. All of the other points to stay positive that you mentioned were very helpful and important also to me .Keep on giving supportive blog like this one it will inspire many people to stay and get positive.

Leave a Reply

